[How To] First time ╰╮╰╮ROOTING╰╮╰╮ walk-through 4/28/11

tarzanboy

Feb 15, 2011
Visit site
Your ROM flashing is instruction is SO MUCH EASIER to understand then the "walk through" from XDA. Thank you so much. I was getting sick of the 2.1. Just updated to 2.2.

Ricon0820

Dec 21, 2010
Visit site
what root does everyone recommend

I'm going to root my phone but would like to get everyones opinions on the roots that are out there because I'm a newb when it comes to rooting my phone. Thanks in advance.

shadow2398

Apr 3, 2011
Visit site
Well I hate to say it, but I've tried everything and looked everywhere (including searches) for an answer to my issue; but when I try 1 click root, I keep getting Error: Device Offline. I've reinstalled all my drivers for the phone, and rebooted it as well. any ideas on how to fix it?

wyllic

Jan 26, 2011
Visit site
Well I hate to say it, but I've tried everything and looked everywhere (including searches) for an answer to my issue; but when I try 1 click root, I keep getting Error: Device Offline. I've reinstalled all my drivers for the phone, and rebooted it as well. any ideas on how to fix it?

Do you have USB Debugging turned on? Does your computer see the phone properly? Have you installed the Samsung drivers on your pc yet?

shadow2398

Apr 3, 2011
Visit site
yes, that is all I've tried so far, I've gotten everything to work up until it goes to actually root the phone. It looks like adb sees my device fine, but it appears offline, is there any way to fix that, or would trying a different method be simpler?

here is a screenshot of what I see:

2nbzvw6.jpg

edit: wow you guys are fast responding, I really appreciate that.

Last edited:

wyllic

Jan 26, 2011
Visit site
yes, that is all I've tried so far, I've gotten everything to work up until it goes to actually root the phone. It looks like adb sees my device fine, but it appears offline, is there any way to fix that, or would trying a different method be simpler?