The waterfall effect of tinkering

Syntaxx

Sep 15, 2010
Visit site
It seems every time I modify anything on this phone, what I do has a ripple effect. If I fix one thing, I seem to break something else. I had to un sync my facebook contacts to resolve one issue, but when I re synced, it broke my launcher pro calendar widget. Now all of the entries that were in there before from fb have duplicated.

I tried deleting the widget from that particular screen, but the duplication is still there when I reload it. I also tried clearing my lp cache. No good either. Any help for my noobish problems will be appreciated.

Cory Streater

Sep 21, 2009
Visit site
You could try making a backup of your LP settings, uninstall LP, then re-install, then import your settings again. It sounds like it's making use of a database that has duplicate entries in it.

Syntaxx

Sep 15, 2010
Visit site
Thanks for responding Cory,

I'm new to android, so I'm not sure how to go about backing up LP. That aside, let me give you the full story of how I ended up at this point. It might help. This was all pre-LP by the way.

It all started with me wanting to link my facebook and phonebook contacts. The desired end I was shooting for was having phonebook contacts with the images from those friends' facebook pages. I originally couldnt figure out how to sync, so what I did was give a few of my contacts pictures manually. I made a non-public album on FB, uploaded pictures, then went in and "set as" for the people I wanted images for.

Then the other day I figured out how to do the "add friends" part of syncing FB and my phonebook contacts. At first all of the pictures synced right up, I linked the profiles that had differing names, and everything was as it should have been. Then I had my phone glitch out on me (specifically, the messaging icon in the dock started opening games, apps, things other than messaging), so I turned the phone off, then on.