[ROM][4.1.1][AOSP] Codename Android 3.0.0 [JB][07/31/2012]

stacman.nexus

Mar 5, 2012
Visit site
I'm a programmer. Most of us hardly ever write code from scratch. Good programmers are lazy. They take something that already works and spend their time making it better or simply making it suite their needs. If it's open, it's fair game. When we do actually write something useful from scratch, very few people in the world know about it.

Think of all of the nameless devs who built Linux or Android. You don't hear them crying about it. Look at Peppermint. It's based on Lubuntu which is based on Ubuntu, which is based on Debian. Each distro is spun a little different and the devs do a lot of coding to make it all work and they freely share their code. No one is crying about it. I always say, "There's no crying in Open Source."

Well said. My feelings exactly.

The end result for me is that CM is nothing to write home about by itself. The better ROMs come from other devs tweaking the source code and adding their own to make it better. Programmers aren't about to reinvent the wheel everytime they develop something new. Take what is there (especially when it's open source) and make it yours. I've run quite a few ROMs now, and I flashed Codename 3.1 a few days ago (CM lasted about 1 hour on my phone) and it's one of the cleanest running ROMs yet, and I'm still running it...

Credits??? Thanks CM for the source code you freely made free. Just don't cry about it now...

migespy

Nov 25, 2009
Visit site
I thought Themes for AOKP/CM would work for this but I could be wrong.

That's what I though as well; however, every site i have visited has placed separate links for AOKP, CM, and CNA, so it made me think that they don't. Also some themes say they are for the older CNA 1 & 2 so I am not sure if they will run with CNA 3. Thoughts?

scarryman04

Jan 15, 2011
Visit site