Disabling Mobile Data Connection?

Bunnee68

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
Probably a newbie question (no, definitely a newbie question): What does the "disable mobile data connection" mean and what exactly does it do?

xliderider

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Pretty much what it sounds like, disables data connection like syncing email, update notification, etc. Anything that uses 3g/4g data. 1x voice and sms will still work.

Bunnee68

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
So then, it shuts down all connections to the 3g and 4g networks, and I think that will save battery life and usage of my data plan? I just got this phone on Tuesday, and I'm seriously considering going to the "class" they are offering at Verizon. I'll feel silly, but maybe learn a lot. I'm new to using a phone to browse the internet (no, I'm not 98 years old) and not knowing how it works and how to stay within my limits is a little daunting. :confused:

xliderider

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Yes, it will certainly keep your data use down while allowing text messages and phone calls to come in and go out.

Unless you download a lot of videos and stream music, it's pretty hard to go over the 2gb data limit some ppl have. I only use average 500mb a month, mostly using just browser and downloading non video files and applications.

Reactions: Bunnee68

Bunnee68

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
I got the 2G plan, too, and everyone is telling me it's more than enough. I don't stream movies, but I might want to download music in the future. I'm still getting used to everything the phone can do. I'll probably download some games and other stuff, too, but don't want any surprise large bills, ya' know?

N33k5

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site