Verizon Galaxy Nexus to Galaxy S3

mzdrati

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
Hi- I'm new to the S3 forum, and am looking for some assistance.

I just worked out a deal with Verizon to have my long out of warranty Verizon Galaxy Nexus replaced with a "Certified Preowned" GS3. I have had bluetooth problems that basically made hands-free phone use impossible ever since the Android 4.2.2 update in April of this year (which is a deal breaker for me, as I drive a lot for work). I like the Galaxy Nexus fine (except for the software problems that limit its functionality)- but my question is- is there a way to test whether bluetooth handsfree functionality will work with the GS3 without activating the phone? I really want to make sure that works before jumping in and changing phones.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer.

bboykin87

Nov 23, 2010
Visit site
I made the same change and I use my S3 daily to listen to music and podcasts for 4-6 hours a day sometimes more via bluetooth and it works fine.

Posted via Android Central App

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
In answer to your question, no, you'd have to activate the phone in order to make calls so that you could test hands-free.
If you just wanted to pair it with your car bluetooth or your bluetooth headset, and play music, that would work without activation.

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

drmaf894c

Apr 26, 2012
Visit site
I agree I think you would have to actually activate the phone to make sure it worked. You might be able to connect the blue tooth (but I doubt it) without activation but to truly know if it was going to work or not you would have to activate and make a call I would suspect. Sorry.

abtxpress

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site
Yes you can... use hangouts or skype or something of the sort. My S3 Bluetooth works fine.

mzdrati

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site