App Icons: Apps vs home screen, etc

bertsirkin

Oct 17, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android, coming from an iPhone, and am confused by the different icon groupings. Right now, I have an Apps icon at the bottom right of all of my screens. It takes me to a complete (unsorted) listing of all of my apps and widgets. I understand this.

But, I also have 6 app sceens - the navigation looks like this: __ __ ^ __ __ __ (where the ^ is the Home icon)

I'm not sure how the first two screens got created, but they have duplicate app/widget icons.

The 3rd screen appears to be my "home" screen - it has a weather and google search widget on it as well as 4 icons in the middle and 5 icons at the bottom (the same 5 icons that appear on all of my screens).

The next 3 screens are screens that I constructed - with folder icons, app icons, etc.

Question #1. What makes the "home" screen different from the other screens??
Question #2: I'm coming from an iPhone, where there was one set of icons. that could be reorganized as desired. I don't understand why there are 2 sets of icon screens: "Apps" (the icon with 16 white squares), which appear to be non-editable other than moving things around, and the screens I create. What is the purpose of having these 2 sets of screens?

Thanks,
Bert

karsdroid

Jun 30, 2012
Visit site
I'm new to Android, coming from an iPhone, and am confused by the different icon groupings. Right now, I have an Apps icon at the bottom right of all of my screens. It takes me to a complete (unsorted) listing of all of my apps and widgets. I understand this.

But, I also have 6 app sceens - the navigation looks like this: __ __ ^ __ __ __ (where the ^ is the Home icon)

I'm not sure how the first two screens got created, but they have duplicate app/widget icons.

The 3rd screen appears to be my "home" screen - it has a weather and google search widget on it as well as 4 icons in the middle and 5 icons at the bottom (the same 5 icons that appear on all of my screens).