Phone freezing - suggested cause

Klaus_K

Apr 28, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

I am an Android newbie, though with > 30 years experience in IT, inc. around 15 years using *nix, so not totally new to software etc.

A few months back I migrated from iPhone to Galaxy S3, with Three mobile (in the UK). This had been working perfectly until a few weeks ago, when my phone suddenly started freezing, for no apparent reason (e.g. it didn't seem to coincide with any new installs that I had done). This occurred when I was using all kinds of apps, and the general symptom was that the screen would remain exactly as it had been at the point of the crash, but all buttons/screen interaction would be dead. The only way out was to either press the power button until a reset occurred, or else take the back off and remove/replace the battery. Occasionally, the phone would even do a complete reset spontaneously, when I wasn't even using it, which was particularly annoying when it happened in the middle of the night.

After speaking to Three I did a backup (using Kies) and reset. After doing this, the problem seemed to go away, which was a big relief, though a bit frustrating, since a 'hard' fault would be easier to isolate/fix. After waiting a few days though I decided to pick up the courage to do a restore and to re-install most of the apps that I'd previously had installed. Although there are quite a few (~60 or so) there is still plenty of memory remaining (~9.5GB).

Unfortunately, at this point, the blasted thing started hanging again :'( (especially during the bulk app download process).

Having said that, now all the downloads are completed, it seems to have gone stable again.