I cannot move apps or other files to my SD card

Chris Clayton1

Apr 16, 2016
Visit site
I am new to Android and finding it hard to grasp. One of many problems is that I am unable to move apps and other files to the SD Card, or to download / install there. So my Card is redundant at present and the tablet is getting overloaded.

I have a Samsung Galaxy Tab A with Lollipop It is not and is not going to be rooted. I did not format the card but as it has accepted an displays images from the camera automatically saved there I guess it has been formatted? Some advice I have been given involves using the Apps Manager in Settings but what was described does not apply to my device --- I suspect they have a different version of Android? I have two apps which are supposed to facilite moving items to the Card, such as LinkToSD, but neither work.

As an SD Card is integral to the Samsung tablet using it should surely be straightforward.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Hi there,

Unfortunately the SD card doesn't work like that on Android anymore (unless the device supports 'Adoptable Storage', which at present is only for Marshmallow versions that have implemented that...Samsung chose not to). You can, however, move SOME apps to the SD card, but it's up to each dev to decide how much of it can be moved. In any case, the main app file will always reside in your device and only extra files, saves, media, etc. can be moved (again, the dev decides how much, if any, of the data can be moved). You'd have to go to the Application Manager, find the app you want to move, and it should have a STORAGE section with a MOVE TO SD CARD button. If it's grayed out, the app cannot be moved.