Automotive Scan Tool App

rem_kujawa

Dec 11, 2009
Visit site
Can someone recommend a good scan tool app. I am a driveability tech and would like to get one for at home for side work and friends cars. Thanks

azjerry

Dec 16, 2009
Visit site
Suggest Torque in the market. It interfaces with bluetooth OBD scanners that can be found for ~ $30 on eBay. The author is very responsive.

Andrew Ruffolo

Jan 5, 2010
Visit site
It syncs bluetooth to a sensor connected into the ODB-II sensor that is require on all cars from 1996 on. Typical location for these ports are under the stearing wheel, or on the drivers side around where a a hood release lever would be. It can pull codes for diagnostics, display "real-time" engine stats like RPM, speed, boost (turbo/supercharged cars with a sensor built in). Pretty neat stuff for the motorhead like me. I've been thinking about getting something like this. I wouldn't recommend this for someone who has autozones/advanced auto parts near by and just need a diagnostics scan. Those places do it for free.

Torque App

Example of wireless ODB-II scanner

Last edited:
Reactions: prometheus

rem_kujawa

Dec 11, 2009
Visit site
It syncs bluetooth to a sensor connected into the ODB-II sensor that is require on all cars from 1996 on. Typical location for these ports are under the stearing wheel, or on the drivers side around where a a hood release lever would be. It can pull codes for diagnostics, display "real-time" engine stats like RPM, speed, boost (turbo/supercharged cars with a sensor built in). Pretty neat stuff for the motorhead like me. I've been thinking about getting something like this. I wouldn't recommend this for someone who has autozones/advanced auto parts near by and just need a diagnostics scan. Those places do it for free.

Torque App

Example of wireless ODB-II scanner
Thanks its just what I was looking for.

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site