Should I trust Clean Master?

A

AC Question

So its my first android phone (lg g3) and I love it way more then ios. I got this app called clean master. It had 100 million downloads and good reviews, so I trusted it. I noticed it can clean old files and empty folders and things. So I let it do its thing. My phone has more memory and everything is great. However i'm paranoid this app could harm my phone possibly. I also loaded lg's file manager. What I don't understand is how you can just delete any folder. Some which seem crucial to the OS. Wouldn't that ruin the operating system? So is my phone ok? Thanks so much.

belodion

Co-Ambassador Team Lead
Jun 10, 2014
Visit site
I have no knowledge of that app. I know that my own G3 prompts me from time to time to do a Smart Clean, as it calls it. It usually doesn't have to prompt, because I perform manual Smart Cleans frequently.

Posted via Android Central App

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
So its my first android phone (lg g3) and I love it way more then ios. I got this app called clean master. It had 100 million downloads and good reviews, so I trusted it. I noticed it can clean old files and empty folders and things. So I let it do its thing. My phone has more memory and everything is great. However i'm paranoid this app could harm my phone possibly. I also loaded lg's file manager. What I don't understand is how you can just delete any folder. Some which seem crucial to the OS. Wouldn't that ruin the operating system? So is my phone ok? Thanks so much.

Welcome to AC :)
Well, task managers in general aren't recommended for Android. Clean master clears out junk files but it also kills apps running in the background, correct?

Blaize19

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to AC :)
Well, task managers in general aren't recommended for Android. Clean master clears out junk files but it also kills apps running in the background, correct?