Nook Newbie friendly?

E_man

Jul 16, 2010
Visit site
I have a brother and sister that are both looking at the Archos 70, but it seems like the nook might be a better option (build/availability/screen). My question is, these 2 are tech illiterate. If I do the rooting/flashing/installing Gapps for them, is there any reason they could not use it? There's no special muddling that has to be done or anything once you have everything setup?

Also, I heard something about CM7 coming or being worked on at least? Is that true?

NDchem2014

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
I'm not tech illiterate but I am new to rooting and I've managed not to brick the thing. :p

The only worry I would have is if they get into some of the super user programs and break something. Other then that, I would say that they should be fine using it. It's almost exactly like a non-rooted phone it just has a couple extra features that allow for tweaking of the tablet.

The only other thing, would be that over the air updates will break root and things must be done to prevent that. So you might have to watch for updates and stop the update/update with the rooted update for them.

Will Shanklin

Jul 29, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, I second what ndchem said. Getting them set up, they should be fine, but little (or big) things tend to come up from time to time with hacked devices, so maybe the question is if you'll be available and willing to help with upkeep should anything happen along the way.

Also, OTA's could be a concern, but the tricks in our disable OTA thread are looking promising. Also, if you put Nookie Froyo on for them, no worries about updates - plus it takes on much more of a legit tablet feel. I think we'll see a Nookie update soon that fixes the youtube and audio issues.

E_man

Jul 16, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, I would have loaded nookie.