iOS user considering Android.. questions about apps and security.

mayconvert

Apr 23, 2013
Visit site
I am a tech user that uses iPhone 5, an iMac (do have windows 8 boot camped) and I have only tried one android phone ever (S3) and found little things that drove me to taking the phone back on week 3 and going back to iphone 5 again.
But, like Many posts I have seen browsing the forums here. As much as I love the iPhone I am just getting bored with it.
Been using iphone since the day iphone 3 was released, then 3gs, then 4, then 4s... you get the picture... at the time, I think the only android phone on the market was the G1 and T-slowble only.

Enough background, this post will already be too long, so forgive me, in advance.

I do many things on my phone. Calendar for work, browse web a lot, get a lot of email thru several diff providers ( yahoo, gmail, outlook.com, live, me.com), I used notes, reminders, banking apps, facebook, twitter, G+, etc. I searched android market place and every app (non apple) I have is available on android.

I have narrowed my choice to HTC One and S4. Note 2 is too big for my taste. Each seem to have pros and cons as with anything in the tech world. Leaning toward HTC (sucker for aluminum)

Here are my concerns in switching:
Security:
I keep reading about android having a LOT of malware to worry about that doesn't seem to be nearly as much of an issue on iPhone.
Yes I have seen a few apps slip into iTunes that apple pulled. I have heard that android has nearly nothing stopping anyone from making malicious apps.
I Never jail broke my iPhones, security is a big deal to me. IF i switch to android, I will not be rooting and rom'ing either. I am assuming those are both similar to jailbreaking.
Anything the removes any security, I won't do it. and of course I don't want to void any warranty I have since I wont have the ease of walking into a store like apple and walking out with a new device should something go wrong.