My Nexus 5 is sending STATUS SMS to 9216

bbgolf

Nov 1, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android and obviously this LG Nexus 5. I'm concerned that it is sending these "STATUS" text messages on its own. If these are "Premium" texts, that could add up to significant costs. Any ideas what application or setting to look for ? Thanks.

Screenshot_2013-11-09-17-00-36.jpg

DroidArmy

Sep 1, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android and obviously this LG Nexus 5. I'm concerned that it is sending these "STATUS" text messages on its own. If these are "Premium" texts, that could add up to significant costs. Any ideas what application or setting to look for ? Thanks.

View attachment 90913

Wow, what the hell is that phone doing?! Alright, let's see if we can figure this out. First, please force stop the message app and clear all of the data. Second, uninstall any fishy apps you might have recently downloaded. Third, run this app. That's all I can think of at the moment without more information. What carrier do you have?

bbgolf

Nov 1, 2013
Visit site
I've force stopped Textra and cleared the data - I only installed it today as I wasn't thrilled with Hangouts. Fido is my carrier. It has not sent any sms since early this morning, strange. I will remove most of the apps I installed as they are not critical - the only one I really need is the BBM for work. After that I will run the scan from the program you reccomended. Thank you.

bbgolf

Nov 1, 2013
Visit site
It is an LTE sim. I uninstalled every app I added except BBM. I ran the Security scan, no malicious items found. Will see what it does between now and the morning. Thanks.

DroidArmy

Sep 1, 2013
Visit site
It is an LTE sim. I uninstalled every app I added except BBM. I ran the Security scan, no malicious items found. Will see what it does between now and the morning. Thanks.

No problem, glad we could help

sent from my Galaxy S3 rocking Cyanogenmod

ccrs8

Nov 19, 2010
Visit site