anyone succeeded with reverse tether and Nexus 7?

skippyV

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
I've rooted my Nexus 7 tablet and I believe it was successful. (Newbie here)
Downloaded the free "USB Reverse Tether" app from Google Play. The error I get when running the tether app: "Sorry, unable to get the system settings of your device."
In my apps I have the "SuperSU" app. If I open that it has "USB Reverse Tether" listed. Open that and the settings saved are "Access: Grant" and "Notifications: Global default".
The pc I'm trying to connect to is Windows 7.
Has anyone got reverse tethering working in Nexus 7?
One possible problem could be the app "Perfect AppLock!" that I installed. It stopped functioning so I can't see its settings to see if it's trying to lock the reverse tether program.

skippyV

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
Good to know! There's no wifi access at work, hence my desire to piggy-back on my lan-connected desktop. And throwing up a wifi hotspot at the office would put me in a world of trouble. Guess I can't use my tablet at work - (sigh). Thanks for responding!

zedorda

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
Can you try a USB WiFi dongle? or bluetooth dongle? both could be used to get internet from your desktop.

slashy42

Jul 18, 2012
Visit site
I'm interested in finding a non WiFi solution for work as well. WiFi is a big nono at my employer to the point that one of the I.t. guys goes around with a sniffer telling people to turn them off.

skippyV

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
I'm in the same boat as slashy42. But in my case its potential grounds for termination. The company has someone periodically and unannounced going around "sniffing" the air waves.

ragnarokx

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site
I remember a post/thread that talked about connecting the Nexus 7 via USB to a modem, and that it worked out of the box. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong...

Sent from my Nexus 7

zedorda

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site