Achieving S-Off

Husker Z

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Okay, I'm still relatively new to this whole rooting thing, but I'm learning as I go. I used the HTC Dev unlocker to root my phone, but I never did the S-Off thing. I downloaded the Lazy Panda files a minute ago, but when it starts the process, it finds my phone, then starts, but then says "Can't find Panda" and I have to hit enter to exit.

Any tips?

kbp08tls

Apr 28, 2012
Visit site
What software version is your phone on?
It's not going to work if you have 1.22.651.3 with hboot 1.15.

Sent from my EVO using Android Central Forums

PreMo15

Jul 25, 2012
Visit site
Yep, that's it.

Can you go backwards? Maybe that's my problem with losing my data when I go to CM10...

You can downgrade your software version, but not your hboot...which is what matters for s-off. Unfortunately you're out of luck until 1.15 gets cracked.

Sent from my EVO LTE

kbp08tls

Apr 28, 2012
Visit site
does it matter though? you can still do everything you need to do with s-on, right?

That's true if you're not on hboot 1.15. If you took the OTA or got a phone with the updated software, you cannot flash kernels via recovery. Not that big of a deal if you're switching between Sense ROMs; the stock kernel will be compatible but you won't get any customizations the dev might have made to the kernel. If you want to try CM10 however, you have to flash the boot.img via fastboot or flash gui. If you rooted before the OTA and never took it, no extra steps required.

Sent from my EVO using Android Central Forums

DisplacedMic

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
interesting - so how do i root it then?
my phone is updated to 1.22.651 3 710RD

Do you think i should wait until they've cracked it so i can get S-off or do it now?

PreMo15

Jul 25, 2012
Visit site
interesting - so how do i root it then?
my phone is updated to 1.22.651 3 710RD

Do you think i should wait until they've cracked it so i can get S-off or do it now?