running cm6.1.2... now new kernel?

gshurling

May 20, 2010
Visit site
hey everyone, I'm new to rooting and flashing ROMs on my EVO. I'm currently running CM6.1.2, have been reading about kernels. Does CM come with an optimized kernel already or do I need to change that too? I'm mainly interested in increasing battery life. I don't game, or watch alot of HD video, or anything that I would classify as CPU intense. If I need to, which kernel would yall recomend and how do I do it? thanks, I'm loving my new hobby.

SmokeCrawler

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
hey everyone, I'm new to rooting and flashing ROMs on my EVO. I'm currently running CM6.1.2, have been reading about kernels. Does CM come with an optimized kernel already or do I need to change that too? I'm mainly interested in increasing battery life. I don't game, or watch alot of HD video, or anything that I would classify as CPU intense. If I need to, which kernel would yall recomend and how do I do it? thanks, I'm loving my new hobby.

What kind of battery life are you getting now? That will give me (or others) a better idea to recommend

gshurling

May 20, 2010
Visit site
I'm getting about 7 hrs out of the standard battery. Cell standby usually Accts for about 40-50% of the battery. Android system is next.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

SmokeCrawler

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
I'm getting about 7 hrs out of the standard battery. Cell standby usually Accts for about 40-50% of the battery. Android system is next.

Less than what I thought since you don't put a lot of strain on the phone.

For cm6 snap is a real popular kernel, there is also savage, and zendroid.

Here is a link to the kernels plus others that will work for cm6. They are all listed under AOSP, plus there are benchmarks if you want to see how they hold up.

igotsanevo4g

Retired Moderator
Jul 31, 2010
Visit site