NOT your mom's smartphone

gatorboi352

Jul 1, 2011
Visit site
I am baffled by the notion of this phone being some sort of "starter" phone or a smart phone for your mom. If that's the case, then the iPhone is a phone for my grandma. I get the price of entry being $0 on contract and all, but in regards to that this is the phone of the year. In the past, phones like the Lucid 2 debut for $99 easily, and sometimes $149 on contract. Then you consider Android 4.1.2 with a 1.2GHz dual core and 1GB of RAM? Yes please! LG has a sleeper hit on their hands and I've been using Androids for 2+ years now. 4.3" is truly the sweet spot between having a mini-tablet (seems to be the rage these days), and having something too small to function ala an iPhone (although the 5 is a step in the right direction but not for $200 on contract).

2 years ago the Lucid 2 couldn't even be fathomed, yet here we are with it being a free phone on contract in 2013. The Android Central review is absolutely spot on and I 100% agree.

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site
Not particularly familiar with this phone, but I agree with you to a great extent. For most owners, this is all the phone they need. But 1.2 GHz and 1 GB of memory is definitely a row behind the latest and greatest, which offer speeds of from 1.5 to 1.9 GHz, and typically 2 GB of memory. For heavy multi-taskers or game players, the extra capabilities of the latest phones do make a difference.

You need to remember that the people who hang out on sites like this aren't the normal phone user. Anything but the newest and most powerful is a "Mom phone" to a lot of people.

But for free? This is a great device!

skatergirl

Retired Moderator
Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
I just got this phone for my mother because I wanted her to have a good phone with decent specs and yes, the FREE part was the topper on the cake.