Installing Android 2.3.3 from TBH

afp77

Jun 16, 2011
Visit site
I'm still new to all of this. I'm trying to install the official rooted and DeOdexed 4.5.596 found on tbh. Can I just run the install of the file from tbh on top of the version of Froyo I'm running now, or do I need to clean out the data using Clockwork Recovery and then run the install. Also there are two files that came with the download and I'm curious if and how to use both. Thanks in advance for any help

wildman

Jul 9, 2010
Visit site
No you can not install the rooted deodexed version over Froyo, you have to root froyo with z4root and then install 4.5.588 build and then you can install the TBH deodexed version.... Uf yoou do not have the 4.5.588 installed you will put your device into a bootloop.

afp77

Jun 16, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the tip. I've listed the description in the tbh app below.

"This is the official build for the DroidX, this is a full updater. It will take your phone from any firmware and put you on the official Gingerbread .596. You must manually format system, data, cache in Clockwork Recovery. Next you need to manually mount system. Last you need to install the zip."

I have rooted my phone and have ClockworkMod installed. I guess I'm looking for help doing the things listed here as I haven't done this before and don't want to screw up my phone. Thanks again for any help.

afp77

Jun 16, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the tip. I've listed the description in the tbh app below.

"This is the official build for the DroidX, this is a full updater. It will take your phone from any firmware and put you on the official Gingerbread .596. You must manually format system, data, cache in Clockwork Recovery. Next you need to manually mount system. Last you need to install the zip."

I have rooted my phone and have ClockworkMod installed. I guess I'm looking for help doing the things listed here as I haven't done this before and don't want to screw up my phone. Thanks again for any help.