My thoughts about the Motorola Xoom, IPad, and other Tablets

vanlanjl

Jan 19, 2011
Visit site
Before I get started on what really is just the opinion of one man, let me say this first, I want One! I know that once I post this on a forum I will be open for criticism and will be attacked for what really are just my views. Some comments will be constructive and yet some will be completely off topic. But that is the price I will pay for giving my opinion.

There has been a lot of speculation about what tablet is the best, what the price is for the Xoom and why that is comparable to IPad and what makes it better than the IPad. So I am going to look at this from my standpoint. I am a Network Engineer, married with a 1 year old son. And I love technology. I love Android, owning first a Droid 1 and now a Droid 2. I am not rich. $800 is a lot of money to me and my family.

First I am going to point out something about the Apple, they are always more expensive! This has always been the case when comparing a Mac with a PC. They used to be a bit more powerful but MACs were for certain types of people. The overall consumers didn’t fall into Apple hype because the truth was the average American family wouldn’t pay that much when they could get it cheaper with a PC.

So Apple has done two things when they came out with the IPAD. First they opened the market to a new technology and new idea, and a new toy. Thank you, Apple. Second they set the benchmark on Price. Thanks a lot Apple (sarcasm).