Note 4 Pedometer Very Inaccurate

wgragg

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
I turned on S Health yesterday and activated the pedometer. I noticed that it seemed to be over counting steps so I tried a wee experiment. I stood in my living room, noted the number of steps on the pedometer and then took exactly 3 steps. I then looked again and saw that the pedometer had counted them as 20 steps!

Is this normal for Galaxy's and/or Note 4's? I've never used a pedometer before, but if this is what it is like, then it is basically useless!

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
I used it for a full 5 minutes and at least for that time, it worked fine for me. But since I have a Moto360, I really don't need the phone wasting battery on something my watch is already doing. Plus, I don't always have my phone in my pocket, so... The downside to activating the pedometer, it seems, it's that once you pause the step counting, it will nag you eeeevery day about you not using it for a while. I had to reset S-Health data to clear that.

wgragg

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
Yeah, I don't think S Health is all it is cracked up to be and I have serious doubts about the blood oxygen monitor too. It was reading 88% on me and since I have a CPAP, I know it is higher than that. I have it tested a lot and it is usually around 97%.

Perhaps they should stop trying to gedgetize things quite so much.

Mike Spranger

Oct 17, 2014
Visit site
fwiw - i tried a fitbit and an up24, and i think the note 4 is better than those 2. I'm also thinking it's impossible to get it right. i think they'll always be wrong, but for me, the value is more in seeing trends, more than actual # of steps. i don't care if i took 10,000 or 1,000 yesterday, but i do care if i took more today than i did yesterday. so as long as this thing is off by a consistent amount, i'll be satisfied, if not happy.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site