S4 Battery drain by "Android OS" dropping 40% over night

jtimcampy

Sep 8, 2013
Visit site
Hello. I'm new here and I'm also really new to Android and phones but I hope someone can help me out. I last phone I had was some really really old blackberry.

I got a S4 I9500 about 5 days ago and I have been having battery problems.

Last night, I left it at about 95% battery and I woke up to about 55% battery. On the battery usage screen, it shows that "Android OS" has used 67%
It does say it has been on battery for about 8 hours (time I am sleeping)
f53o.png

It also says: "Stay awake" for 7 hours (I'm not sure what that means) under "Android OS"
fgn.png

Dropping 40% of battery overnight is quite the problem.

Can someone help me and tell me what's wrong and what is the root of the problem? I have seen people talk about mounted SD cards, maps/location, Google Now, etc... draining the battery.
I had the "Google Service" battery drain problem before but I somehow managed to turn off Google Now, and turn off location/maps and the Google Service does not appear as much on the battery screen usage anymore.

Now I have "Android OS" draining my battery and I'm not sure what is causing this.

Thanks in advance.

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Hello. I'm new here and I'm also really new to Android and phones but I hope someone can help me out. I last phone I had was some really really old blackberry.

I got a S4 I9500 about 5 days ago and I have been having battery problems.

Last night, I left it at about 95% battery and I woke up to about 55% battery. On the battery usage screen, it shows that "Android OS" has used 67%
It does say it has been on battery for about 8 hours (time I am sleeping)

It also says: "Stay awake" for 7 hours (I'm not sure what that means) under "Android OS"

Dropping 40% of battery overnight is quite the problem.