new to android custom rom questions

Bobby Williams4

Apr 3, 2014
Visit site
As the title states I am new to the android platform. I recently came to the GS5 from the iPhone 5. I absolutely love this new phone, but I'm ready to really see what the device is able to do. I have the device rooted, and have been looking for a good custom ROM that will remove all the bloatware, both sprint and Samsung bloat. When using CF-Auto-Root I saw that it required the version to complete. As I have the Sprint variant the SMG900P version is what was required. Now while looking for a good custom ROM everything I have found is for the SMG900F variant. I am afraid to move forward until I checked with this community on the specifics of what I must do. I do not want to do something that may brick the device, or anything other rendering the device unusable. so the next few questions are what I am seeking answers for.

1. When flashing CWM or TWRP, does the phone version number effect the version I use ie. SMG900p is my device but can only find SMG900F files?

2. Being a new user of the android platform, what is a recommended custom ROM to use? I understand what I want to do with the device dictates this recommendation. I am interested in removing Carrier/Samsung bloatware, and increase device performance. Having the device since launch day, it is already running slower then expected and freezing occasionally when doing simple tasks such as web browsing, this is not related to internet service as the device won't respond when trying to lock or stop the operation. I do also enjoy some of the features the phone has such as the camera app, and the Samsung options included in the camera app.

I'm sure more questions will come up as I get going on this, luckily this community seems very helpful and I look forward to getting input form season users of the forums, and the Android OS.

liqrisquicker28

Apr 12, 2014
Visit site