Everything is so friggin complicated...

Needkeys

Dec 1, 2015
Visit site
I have probably spent somewhere between 40-50 hours over the past 10 days trying to get everything set up on my S6. I'm new to Android, and I can appreciate the realities of a learning curve, but I'm starting to think this operating system just isn't for me.

My latest problem is trying to figure out a way to automatically have my wifi turn on and off when I arrive at or leave my home. My home is the only wifi network I care about. I will manually deal with other networks if and when I want to. But when I get home, I'd like my wifi to turn on so I'm not using mobile data. When I leave home, I'd like my wifi to turn off so that I'm not draining the battery. I've also been told that location services drains the battery, so I keep location turned off at all times unless and until I use waze.

I've looked at Tasker. Forget it....wayyyy beyond me. I'm a layperson. I need it simple....kindergarten level simple. I tried Smart Wifi Toggler...it seems simpler than Tasker, but there are still 15 or so settings which are wayyyy beyond me. I don't understand any of the trigger this or trial timer that. It's all so exasperating...my experience with apps in the past is you download it, you toggle it on or off, and it works. Everything here has a gozillion settings and you really have to know what you're doing or you end up screwing something else up.

I'm exhausted from this device. I will resort to manually turning wifi on and off. How? I'm setting up 2 recurrent calendar appointments every day, each with a notification reminder...one to remind me to turn my wifi off...and one to remind me to turn it on. That's what this has come to...