Problems Converting DVDs

timbo1957

Mar 16, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

I'm very new to this technology so please be kind.

I have been told that rather than download films to the device I can take films I have recorded myself and convert them. Handbrake was mentioned so I downloaded it and have been trying in vain to convert some of my own dvd's.

I have tried several of the presets Android High, Android Mid but I either get a converted file that won't play or a film where the file is very tall and not very wide.

Can anyone give me step by step instructions on how to use this tool if indeed it is the right tool. I have looked on line and most of these tools have bad reviews because they download a lot of "crapware" when you install them. Even the ones on sale on Amazon hyave poor reviews.

Many thanks.

timbo1957

Mar 16, 2013
Visit site
Bumped.

Hi sorry to pester you kind people for an answer but this is driving me nuts.

I have converted a home recorded dvd to an .mp4 file using Leawo.

This plays perfectly on the pc.

But I just can't seem to get the file to convert for the tablet properly. I upload it using Kies and I either get a film with 0 minutes that won't play or I get the film with the full running time displayed but when I try and play the video i get a message that says unable to play video.

really would appreciate some advice on this.

many thanks.

shanghaichica

Aug 17, 2013
Visit site
I can't really advise on those programmes as I haven't use them. I use any DVD converter for android, Magic DVD converter and any DVD converter for ipod and iphone. They are all paid for applications but they all work flawlessly when converting DVDs to my various devices.

Camilo

Sep 24, 2013
Visit site
Coming in very late to this discussion. I've only converted commercial dvds (ones I rent and ones I own), but this is what I do: