Z2 vs Z3 for a new Android User

Francois1988

Sep 30, 2014
Visit site
Hi everyone. This is my first post here. Seems like one of the best places to get the info I need.

I am currently using a Blackberrry Z10 and I am due for an upgrade tomorrow. For a few months I had been considering getting the Sony Xperia Z2. I read up on it, checked out the reviews. And BAM, the Z3 is coming out here in South Africa in November. I have never used an Android device before, and my phone is completely for personal use. From all the reviews I saw so far about the Z3 it isn't THAT much different from the Z2. For me the biggest draw would be the PS4 Remote Play, but I don't have one, nor plan to get one in the next year or so (but never say never), so that is not a usable feature.

Now, when the Z3 is released here, naturally the Z2 would become just a little less pricey which is a plus for me as cellphone contracts here are very expensive and you don't get a whole lot (My current contract which is one of the top non-business ones gives 250MB data. 250!!)

My question is this, as someone who has never used Android before, is there really that big of a difference between the Z2 and the Z3? The other major difference I can see is the SmartBand Talk. Will the SmartBand Talk also work backwards with the Z2, were I to ever consider buying it?

Thanks in advance,

F

gunzkevin

Jan 21, 2013
Visit site
Hey!

Well I am a current Z2 owner, had it for 6 months now. I love it.

But, if I were to have the option of the z3 or the z2, I would probably buy the z3. To a certain point.

It looks much slimmer in videos, and I really enjoy the white front available on the z3, versus all black for my z2.

They also made key improvements. The screen on my z2 when maxed is pretty bright, but it could be better. And they fixed that with the z3. The low light camera performance is already great on my z2, I can't imagine how they improved it for the z3, but they did.