Rooted users, TWRP recovery updated v2.2.2.0

jean15paul

Trusted Member
Jun 17, 2011
Visit site
Dumb questions: I'm new to rooting (only been rooted since July). How do you update your recovery? Do you just flash the new ".img" file through fastboot? Do you have to wipe anything first? Do you have to reflash your ROM after? Do your existing nandroids still work?

Thanks in advance.

dmmarck

Retired Moderator
Dec 28, 2011
Visit site
Dumb questions: I'm new to rooting (only been rooted since July). How do you update your recovery? Do you just flash the new ".img" file through fastboot? Do you have to wipe anything first? Do you have to reflash your ROM after? Do your existing nandroids still work?

Thanks in advance.

Two options (if available)

(1) Flash through fastboot. No wipes, just go to the bootloader and fastboot it.

(2) Flash through recovery. It'll tell you the steps; doesn't hurt to do a cache/dalvik wipe (I do them every time b/c I'm OCD), then you flash it, then you reboot your recovery and boom TWRP.

jean15paul

Trusted Member
Jun 17, 2011
Visit site
Two options (if available)

(1) Flash through fastboot. No wipes, just go to the bootloader and fastboot it.

(2) Flash through recovery. It'll tell you the steps; doesn't hurt to do a cache/dalvik wipe (I do them every time b/c I'm OCD), then you flash it, then you reboot your recovery and boom TWRP.

Thanks. So if you flash through fastboot, you just flash the .img file, right?

If you flash through recovery, do you use the .img file or do you need a .zip file?

dmmarck

Retired Moderator
Dec 28, 2011
Visit site
Thanks. So if you flash through fastboot, you just flash the .img file, right?

If you flash through recovery, do you use the .img file or do you need a .zip file?

You'll need a flashable zip, yes. TWRP has been good about providing them for prior releases.

And you're correct re: fastboot.

CaMelGuY1337

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site