Delete Stock Apps

lilmicstar

Jul 19, 2011
Visit site
Okay here's the thing.

I've bought my samsung galaxy s just a week ago.
I'm annoyed by the stock apps. I understand you can only delete them by rooting it.
So i've a couple of questions,

1. How do I root my samsung galaxy s ( the easiest way, i'm new to android )

2. How do i delete the stock apps once my phone is rooted.

3. How do i Un-Root my phone again.

4. Can I and what happens if i connect my phone to the KIES software from samsung and i want to update my phone ( e.x. to 2.3.4 , i'm running 2.3.3 now )

I hope someone can give the answers to my questions.

Have a nice day :D

Smokexz

Aug 30, 2010
Visit site
To root your phone, go Google One Click Root... super easy, to unrooted... that I have never learned, but there is always flashing a stock rom ( which will then put all of your stock apps back so lol). If you root and want to remove the stock apps, they are in the system/apps folder and you can use something like Root Explorer to do so... first you mount r/w( read/write) then you look for the app (example would be Slacker, the apk would be called slacker.apk) delete the apk, and it should be gone, if you still see it you might have to restart. By the way, try not to delete system stock apps as it could brick your device. Oh and when you update when you're rooted, you lose root and any carrier bloat that is in the update will be installed again. Good luck.

Sent from my Samsung Vibrant

jbt.pham

Aug 23, 2011
Visit site
I agree with the above post; you can possibly brick your phone if you delete the wrong stock apps. But, in case you want to try anyway...I use ES File Explorer from the market. Once you root your phone, open ES File Explorer, go into settings, select root explorer and mount file system. At the main screen, select the SD icon. You can delete .apk files in system/app. Make sure you restart!

If you need any help, don't hesitate to send me a PM. :)

Last edited:

Morbital

Dec 4, 2012