HELP! I think I bricked my LG G3 D850, how can I fix this?

A

AC Question

HELP! I think I bricked my LG G3 D850

So first off, let me just say that I am new to androids and rooting.
I Just received my LG G3 today, and the first thing I did was a root. It was successful.
I wanted to get a camera mod that lets you record in 60FPS instead of 30.
I followed a tutorial from a forum:

It had me replace a modified "media_profiles.xml" file with the original one that's in "system/etc"
(I made sure to set the correct permissions)

I rebooted the device like the tutorial said...
When I opened the camera app, the camera didn't work, it was just a black screen, so I decided to replace the new "media_profiles.xml" file with the original one.
Unfortunately I didn't back it up (i didnt think to )
So I searched online for the original file and I found one from a forum thread

I replaced the file with what i found in that thread and when I restarted the phone, It was stuck on the intro LG screen.

I tried so many things and nothing is working!
I was able to put the phone in the factory reset mode by holding the volume down and power button
but when I chose to reset it and clicked "Yes," It went right back into the boot logo and it was stuck again.
(I also tried recovering it in the LG PC Suite program but it doesn't detect the phone when it's bricked, and yes I have the drivers installed)

There HAS to be a way to fix this or fully reset my phone other than the hard reset that everyone knows! Again, I JUST got this phone so i'm NOTafraid of loosing any of my data.
Thanks in advance.

xocomaox

Jul 8, 2014
Visit site
Re: HELP! I think I bricked my LG G3 D850

That media_profiles.xml file can cause a lot of bootloop and non-boot issues when messed with. It's best to leave it alone.