Looking for help choosing a new phone to use with Straight Talk

ElterAgo

Jan 4, 2022
Visit site
I have a Samsung Galaxy S7. Been mostly happy with it (other than the constant Samsung popups). I've been using it for about 3 years now and it is finally dying.

My carrier is Straight Talk Wireless, since that is the only one that seems to be able to give consistently good reception near my home. I know that makes no sense since they use the towers of the big boys, but there it is.

I went to the Straight Talk website to look for a new phone. Oddly they have almost no choices that are less than 2 years old. Even for those "Super Deal", they have less memory than std, older operating systems than std, and charge more than almost any other place I can find the same phones.

So I want to find a 3rd party Android phone that can be used with Straight Talk, so I can get one that is up to spec.
1) I play mobile games on my phone way more than I should. The S7 gets hot and drains the battery too fast.
2) Take lots of pics and movies of the kids and pets, but nothing professional quality.
3) A fair amount of my time is on wifi, but not all of it. Maybe 40%.
4) Eyesight is poor, I don't wan a screen smaller than 125mm of display space (diagonal).
5) I don't intend to spend $1500 just to keep having the latest and greatest.

So, any suggestions from you fine folks?

Laura Knotek

Moderator Captain
Jan 8, 2011
Visit site
The Samsung S21 FE is being released on 11 January 2022. You may want to see what the price is when it's available. The FE models are typically less expensive than the regular S models.

ElterAgo

Jan 4, 2022
Visit site
Oddly enough, when I log into the website that phone isn't an option. I can follow your link for partial info on it.

Is there much difference between the A51 and A52?

How is the A series different from the S series?

Last edited:

Chuck Finley69

Trusted Member
Feb 22, 2015
Visit site