My phone is making me sick and I'm not alone

LinuxDan2015

Nov 7, 2018
Visit site
Yes! Yes! Yes! Finally some attention on this matter. I really liked my Samsung S20 but in 2021 or 2022 (?) I had to sell it and buy a Motorola G100 with LCD display. No more nausea, dizzy spells and full on vertigo!! PWM must DIE now!!!! I cannot use any OLED phone because of this. I have not tried the newer Motorola's with higher refresh rates, but I'm glad to hear they exist. Prior to my Samsung, I owned an LG phone - it was the one with two displays. I love it, but that only lasted 24 hours. I got really sick with that one and returned it the next day. That's when I started learning about PWM. The Samsung phone took longer to make me sick, but it still eventually did after less than 12 months of use. That's when I went back to LCD. I don't mind LCD at all, but like you noted, you can't get a "high-end" phone with LCD. :-( Moto G100 was the closest I could get and I like it, but still. I want to be able to use any phone I want.

We need to get these companies to hear that people out there are suffering and I wonder how many don't even know why they are suffering. Took me a while to figure it out, that nothing was wrong with me or my eyes but my screens! :-(

Reactions: kxc1279

fuzzylumpkin

Dec 7, 2012
Visit site
Interesting. Thankfully not something that I seem to be affected by... But the accessibility setting to adjust the modulation rate should already be there, no reason to cause people to suffer when there's an easy fix.

joeldf

Dec 19, 2011
Visit site
Interesting. Thankfully not something that I seem to be affected by... But the accessibility setting to adjust the modulation rate should already be there, no reason to cause people to suffer when there's an easy fix.
Where do you see that in the accessibility settings. I can't find that on my S20 FE, which I assume is also affected.

Although, I don't seem to be sensitive to it.