Question Remove duplicate app icons

&roid

Nov 25, 2023
Visit site
I’m new to Android and I have an issue where two icons appears on the screen for some apps. I read that a possible solution is to long press on the app, go into info and clear the cache, but this has not helped. What can I do to fix this?

Running Android 8.1.0

VidJunky

Dec 6, 2011
Visit site
Given how you've worded your post I'll assume you mean you have two icons on your home screen, but this would work if you had two icons in a folder too. Long press one of the icons, either or is shouldn't matter, and drag it to the bottom of the screen where an icon will usually appear that says remove. It won't appear until you start dragging the icon around. You can also rearrange the icons on your screen in this same way. I Mason this because coming from that fruity brand we know you didn't have a lot of this type of customization. Alternatively you can long press the icon and release it, as you described, there will be a set of symbols that appear by rather than choosing little i circled choose remove, depending on brand it may appear as a trashcan. This doesn't delete or uninstall the app it simply removes the icon from your screen.