Spigen Ultra Hybrid Case - Matte Black or Jet Black?

BioFanatic

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Hey, I need your opinions!

Planning to get the S8 in black, and I've been using this style of case for my S6 for the last 2 years.

https://www.spigen.com/collections/...laxy-s8-case-ultra-hybrid?variant=30615878657

I want to keep everything black, but I prefer the style with the clear backing. Also, I won't ever buy one with a clear TPU bumper again, because it looks yellow within a month or two, so I've narrowed it down to 2 options:

Jet black or matte black?

Being that the phone looks glossy and sleek, I'm kinda leaning towards the jet black. However how does glossy TPU hold up over time? Does it fade? Show more scratches? Peel?

Please let me know your experience with glossy TPU, because I think I found a winner!

(side note: if you plan to use the GearVR, you'll want a case that's easy to take off and put on. These cases with the TPU bumper are great, and I recommend these 1-piece cases over the cases that have multiple pieces that interlock, etc.

Attachments

• 25249.jpg
    25249.jpg
    30.3 KB · Views: 283

BioFanatic

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Odd note: Interesting that Spigen made these renders before getting official details, hence the white front bezels, haha.

BioFanatic

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Spigen has updated the render on their website to show a black front (bezels). The jet black is probably going to win my money! It's too bad that the render of the back isn't also black.

abs3.jpg

BioFanatic

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
I've used the Ultra Hybrid on and off on my S6 as well. I was planning an Ultra Hybrid for my S8, but intrigued by this Ringke design posted in the SlickDeals post. The Smoke Black design might look good on the Midnight Black S8:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XXNZV1B?sdsrc=staff&tag=hawk-future-20&ascsubtag=UUacUvbUpU5736325

Nice, looks really similar to the Spigen Ultra Hybrid.