Why can't I see my phone photos on my PC?

• Thread starter Android Central Question
  • Start date
A

Android Central Question

I'm trying to transfer photos from my Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra to my PC. This is my first time doing so with the S21, but I have done it many times with the S7 and S9+. I plug the phone into the computer using a USB cable (one that I have used for this before, so I know it works), and make sure the USB settings on my phone are set to file transfer. I can see my phone and open it's file structure with my file explorer, but when I open the photos folder (Internal Storage/DCIM/Camera), it says the folder is empty. But I can see the 5600 pictures and videos on my phone, just not on the computer. I have tried searching a photo file name, and as far as my explorer is concerned, that file is not on my phone's internal memory. Any suggestions?

fletchflower

Jan 3, 2022
Visit site
Thanks, I'm the OP, now with an account. I've tried all my ports, both USB-C and USB-A. I have not tried a different computer, because I only have the one, but I've never had issues like these with this one before. I already have Google Photos automatically backing up my photos and videos, I just also want them on an external hard drive. I know I can download from Google Photos, but I'd really rather not if I don't have to. Especially considering I can't see ANY of my phone files, being documents, pictures, videos, or audio files. So while at the moment it's a picture/video issue, soon it will be more than that.

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site