Blackberry to Android - Wait for Merge?

RedSoxFan#AC

Dec 20, 2010
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I was hoping to get some friendly advice from some expert Android users. I am a newbie on this forum and to Android itself. I am a five year Blackberry user ready to make a switch to Android. My Bold has been dropping calls left and right (after 4 exchanges).

I am currently on Verizon and I have looked at the Samsung Fascinate, Continuum and torn to buy now or wait until the Merge. Are the physical Querty keybords (sliders) worth getting? Coming from a BB I am used to physical keyboards----thoughts? Is Samsung a better built device than HTC overall? Push email or is it pull? Will the Merge's 4G be an extra charge per month via Verizon? Is battery life as bad as everyone says on Android devices? I am a business user, if I don't use the Facebook, Twitter etc will my battery last longer?

Sorry for all the questions, I have been online checking all the options on the Android phones and these are the ones I have not answered.

gobluejd

Jan 28, 2010
Visit site
I came from a BB to a Droid Incredible. I would wait (if you can) or get a INC.

Check out my site for some tips coming from a BB to android. Site is stale (have not updated in a while) but there is tons of info there for you.

Blackberry to Android

mclarryjr

Retired Moderator
Nov 2, 2009
Visit site
When I made the switch from BB to Android I went with the Motorola droid because of the keyboard and at that time was the best Android phone on Verizon. Because of the IMO bad physical keyboard I ended up using the on screen board and became pretty good using it. Its going to depend on you if you need or want a physical keyboard.

I currently using a Dinc and love Sense and wouldn't trade it for any other anything. I think the device is well built and have no complaints. I also have a Galaxy Tab and very happy with a Samsung device but would really like to have Sense on it.