"Chat" App Behavior

mcharl02

Jul 3, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to smartphones, so maybe the answer to this query is otherwise obvious:

I like to use stay on FB chat & Google Talk on my Charge. It frees me from sitting at my desktop if I still want to chat with my friends... But I was curious, how often do I have to open these apps up to keep them active? Do they automatically sign-off/shut down when I disconnect and reconnect to wi-fi? Do I go "idle" on these apps? Or if say FB chat is open on my phone, will it always show me as available?

Also there is the slight annoyance of when I actually do return to my computer to chat. Sometimes my phone will start to push those notifications to me (so I'm receiving incoming messages simultaneously on phone and PC). Any shortcut to fix that? A button to press when I want to sit at my computer?

Anderain

Jun 10, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to smartphones, so maybe the answer to this query is otherwise obvious:

I like to use stay on FB chat & Google Talk on my Charge. It frees me from sitting at my desktop if I still want to chat with my friends... But I was curious, how often do I have to open these apps up to keep them active? Do they automatically sign-off/shut down when I disconnect and reconnect to wi-fi? Do I go "idle" on these apps? Or if say FB chat is open on my phone, will it always show me as available?

Also there is the slight annoyance of when I actually do return to my computer to chat. Sometimes my phone will start to push those notifications to me (so I'm receiving incoming messages simultaneously on phone and PC). Any shortcut to fix that? A button to press when I want to sit at my computer?