Resolving Errors: Invalid or Missing SIM card, Invalid IMEI, and Cellular Network "Unknown"

Nikita H

Jan 19, 2019
Visit site
Resolving Errors: Invalid or Missing SIM card, Invalid IMEI, and Cellular Network "Unknown"

*EDITS NOTED WITH SINGLE ASTERISKS

Phone: BLU Life XL (Model: L050U - dual SIM - unlocked from manufacturer)
Provider: H2O Wireless (runs on AT&T's GSM 4G LTE network)

I have had the same cell phone, OS, service provider, and SIM card since Oct. 2017 without any prior issues.

I can't send/receive calls or texts, and I can only access the Internet via WiFi.

*According to the CTIA Wireless Association (US) website, my phone's IMEI is not reported as lost/stolen. When I typed in the IMEI1 number, the website gave me the correct manufacturer and model of my phone.

Below, I have listed 4 errors I need to resolve so that I may reconnect to my cellular network.

**I am an amateur, so please excuse me if I have given unnecessary, incorrect, or redundant information. I am here to learn :)

INVALID OR MISSING SIM CARD:

I contacted my provider regarding the "Invalid or Missing SIM card" error. After I completed a series of IT-directed diagnostic actions, the provider said there is likely some issue with the phone or the OS.

In Settings -> Wireless and Networks -> SIM cards, both of my SIM card slots are "grayed out". I can't turn either slot back on.

I would like to test the SIM card in another device, but I don't have another compatible device.

INVALID IMEI NUMBERS:

In Settings -> About device -> Status -> IMEI Information, the IMEI numbers are missing.

If I enter the dialer and type *#06#, I receive an Invalid IMEI error message.

I located the IMEI numbers under the battery of my phone, but I don't know the best way to restore the IMEI numbers on my OS.

*INCORRECT SERIAL NUMBER:

In Settings -> About device -> Status -> Serial Number, the phone's serial number is listed as 0123456789ABCDEF, which doesn't match the phone's real SN.