My Winamp/iTunes >> Android Sync Tool

BSG75

Custom User Title
May 11, 2010
Visit site
Hi there.

I'm a developer, Android Central regular, and open-source fan. Back when I was using a Blackberry Storm, I had a rough time with the awful BB media sync tool. I was also using iTunes at the time. So I created my own tool: mdSync. You can still get the older versions from my website, and see it's unique features.

I have since moved onto Android (would never consider any else currently on the market). I started using Winamp as my media library, which I love, but it does not preserve album art when you use it to sync. That is pretty much a deal-killer for me.

So I created this latest version of mdSync. It's 0.5.*.*. I realize that there are already a lot of other tools out there. DoubleTwist was always too freaking slow for me. I tried it a few times. Agony. Maybe it was my machine. Winamp doesn't do album art. I know there are paid tools, but I'm not paying for something I can create myself. I also know there are some other free tools, but it was simple and fun enough to make one that does exactly what I want.

I have updated my relatively simple tool and I offer it to anyone that wants to give it a shot. It's beta, but I and my lone beta-tester have hammered it pretty thoroughly. Still, nothing is perfect. If anyone is interested, it's now available for download from Google code.

Source and installer downloads.

Here is a YouTube demonstration. Feedback is appreciated.

Again, think of this as my own personal tool that I am making availanle rather than my attempt to take of the sync world. I expect Winamp and dT to get their houses in order, and I expect wireless syncing and streaming from Google, too.