Downloaded apps disappear

A

AC Question

I'm new to smart phones, recently got hold of a second hand Samsung S4 to see what all the hype is about. Hundreds of apps and widgets on it; I've disabled or dumped half the apps, which was probably stupid since I don't know what most of them do (blushing).

I need a simple word processor, so I downloaded a couple from Google. Google now tells me they're installed, but they don't appear on any of the apps pages, and not mentioned anywhere else. I've obviously disabled something I shouldn't have. Can anyone suggest how I can find them and enable one or the other?

I have the phone linked to my Mac's internet modem via Wi-Fi.

DaveF.

Gimmuniverse

Sep 25, 2016
Visit site
Maybe you have disabled app drawer or some important service. Maybe if you reset the phone everything will turn back to normal. (But backup your contacts, SMS and etc before this)

Or it can be a virus problem too.

But I feel you may have disabled important something..

Try installing free Launcher app from Google play and open it through Google play and apply it. Probably your all APS may visible again.

Good luck.

XJR308

Sep 29, 2016
Visit site
Thanks for your reply Gimmuniverse.

Yes I agree, I must have disabled something important. I was rather hoping someone here could tell me which are the essential settings I've stuffed up, or which apps to keep active. Or maybe how to discover the apps I've recently downloaded and are hidden from me.

I'm a bit reluctant to reset the phone, because then I'll have to spend all those hours again, dumping dozens of apps I have no use for (or don't know the purpose of), resetting all the settings, etc...

I had a look for Free Launcher - and there are dozens of Launchers! Is there a specific one I should look for? And if I do download a free launcher won't it just disappear like my other downloads?

TIA, Dave

belodion

Co-Ambassador Team Lead
Jun 10, 2014
Visit site
Welcome as a new member! :)