I've been using an iteration of the iPhone since its release in 2007, with a jaunt into the realm of Android with the Moto X 2nd Gen 64gb Pure edition (Not to be mistaken with the Moto X Pure that was released later). I loved it, but unfortunately work forced me back into the world of iOS. Right now, the ONLY thing about iOS that I appreciate is iMessages, but when I had my Moto X, I didn't miss it all that much.

All of that said and done, I'd like to dive back into Android - I'm looking at the Moto Z Unlocked and the Google Pixel XL. I'm leaning toward the Pixel because of fast updates and security patches, but the Moto Z is pretty cool, especially with the Hasselblad module.

Of those two, which do you think is the better investment?

Is there another Android phone out there you would recommend over these two?

Thank you for your time.

-Micah
    Jerry Hildenbrand likes this.
    01-26-2017 10:29 AM
    Great question and right up there with what's the meaning of life....LOL
    I just went through this a few weeks ago; LG V10 Boot Looped and needed to get something that wasn't made by LG.
    I went with very specific criteria:
    5.5" screen or larger
    Built in wireless charging
    Expandable Memory
    IP68 waterproof rating
    Good or great camera
    Preferably not USB-C
    Good to great screen clarity and color
    I learned a long time ago that updates are a non issue for me. Ultimately the updates are never life changing to the point where I would use the phone any differently. Usually a few days after an update it's business as usual with no real recollection of an update.

I like the Pixel and Moto Z like you but they were missing some of the key criteria that I was after.
    I really liked the HTC10 but wanted a bigger screen. Built like a tank and really nice looking.
    I ended up with a Samsung S7 Edge, so far so good!
    Good luck whichever way you go. In my opinion it would be hard to go wrong with any of the current flagship models.