I'm new to android (came from iphone 6) and just recently got the s10+. It feels like it has a huge latency for touching the screen. Is that meant to be like that?

As if you were playing a first person shooter, iphone felt like it was 20ms, while s10+ feels like its 100ms.

Thanks,
    04-05-2019 08:33 PM
    Welcome to Android Central! When are you noticing the latency? Is it only on the homescreen, or in certain apps, or everywhere? Do you have a screen protector on?
    04-05-2019 09:35 PM
    Hey! Its everywhere i've noticed. I do have a screen protector on, but it's still there when i take it off. It's very slight which makes me think it might be an android thing, and maybe not a bug thing. Thoughts?
    Thanks
    04-05-2019 11:59 PM
    Do you notice it only when animations are involved (like app opening/closing, dragging icons, etc.)?
    04-06-2019 12:11 AM
    I guess a bit of everything. Just having a play around now and its everything from scrolling, dragging icons, etc. It's just more noticeable and easier to 'feel' when scrolling how delayed it is. Again, we're not talking a huge unusable delay, just doesn't feel 1:1 with your finger touch.
    (Thanks for the reply btw)
    04-06-2019 12:22 AM
    I can't speak for the S10 line, but scrolling sluggishness can vary depending on hardware specs and additional software tweaks. More heavily skinned versions of Android may be more prone to that kind of issue. But I've also read reviews of other phones that are otherwise lightning fast, and yet scrolling is janky, which is presumably a software issue.

I get an occasional stutter on my Pixel 3 XL, but it's overall smooth and responsive (but then again, I've never used an iPhone for an extended period of time).
    04-06-2019 12:35 AM
    I have the S10 plus and not noticing any latency at all.
    04-06-2019 12:39 AM