How is the Prime in sunlight?

mgftp

Apr 1, 2011
Visit site
I am new to the tablet world but think I am ready to jump in this summer and finally get one. I have heard good things about the prime and have used transformers so that is why I am leaning that way and posting here.

My big question is how is the screen in the sun? Is there a certain specification to look at for this and compare to other tablets? How does it compare? Also, without having to wait forever, is there another tablet slated for release shortly that I should be waiting for? Thanks

False_Aesop

Jan 27, 2012
Visit site
The Transformer Prime has Super IPS+ mode, which deserves all the supers and the plusses. While it does increase draw on the battery turning it on (easily accessible from the notification bar so from any app) makes the tablet blaze like the sun, and indeed makes it perfectly useable in direct sunlight.

I'm not sure how it compares to other tablets in the sunlight, since I've only owned the Prime, but I can tell you that it does work in sunlight.

As to what eles is on the horrizon the ASUS Transformer tf300 which is released this month has a regular IPS screen. I haven't seen it in life in the AC review Jerry calls it "great" as opposed to the Prime's "amazing" screen. I do not know how well it works in direct sunlight. It is $100 cheaper then the Prime and the lower powered screen and processors are part of that.

What will be the step up from the Prime, the ASUS Transformer Infinity tf 700 will presumablty have a comparable if not better display and a higher powered processor, but we have yet to get any kind of release date on it.

Reactions: mgftp

digitalslacker

Jul 6, 2010
Visit site
A note about IPS+

From what I've read it's just an artificial governor on the brightness to save battery. Meaning, when ON, the devices is "allowed" to go to 100% brightness but 100% is really like 70% when it's OFF.