5.5.893 Update...On Rooted Bionic???

rfuller783

Dec 9, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to Android (got rid of my iPhone!)...and I got the Bionic last week and have it rooted following droidbionicroot.com instructions. Just saw an article on an OTA update, 5.5.893, being released soon.

Will I get notified on my phone when available, or since it is rooted will I not be notified, or can I not install this, period?

I'm new to the whole "rooting" of a phone. I'm used to jailbreaking and the "don't update iOS when it comes out". How does it work for Android updates? Do I not install or...?

Thanks!

dmevis

Jul 16, 2010
Visit site
My bionic is also Rooted, and I just received the notification on my phone of the update. I have not taken the update yet, as I want to learn how to "keep" Root after the update.

rfuller783

Dec 9, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to Android...I don't know what any of that is 2defmouze, I'm sorry.

.886 stock root bloat? flash to stock? All I know is I took it out of the box, rooted following droidbionicroot.com.

I dont see instructions for applying foreverroot...

Jbairdjr

Aug 14, 2010
Visit site
I installed the update on my rooted Bionic with no problems.
But, now I cant get either method of rooting the Bionic to work.
Anyone else having this same problem?

rfuller783

Dec 9, 2011
Visit site
Spend some time reading through everything and I got it! Thanks 2defmouze. Backed up my apps, flashed it back, rooted, and did the forever root. Now I am just waiting for the update to come out. I know the update is available to download now from the leaked version, but I think I am going to wait. Maybe something better for tweaked. Thanks

2defmouze

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site

Because you didn't "foreverroot"... see the link I posted above