thenameisnigel

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site
Re: [WIP]UbuntuPhone Alpha for Sprint Galaxy S II

Why doesn't it surprise me that nothing has been posted?

I'm not developer but if I was, I would give the community some kind of status updates.

Because as of right now, Ubuntu Touch Preview doesn't support CDMA radios. I can TRY to compile, but you won't have calling/sms/web.

I'm pretty sure that's why almost no D710 devs are working on it.

Last edited:

jhomy96

Jul 28, 2012
Visit site

Because as of right now, Ubuntu Touch Preview doesn't support CDMA radios. I can TRY to compile, but you won't have calling/sms/web.

I'm pretty sure that's why almost no D710 devs are working on it.
Its okay, you can do that if you want just to keep us entertained :b while you keep working at it.

thenameisnigel

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site

I don't think he's working on it at all. Mods should remove this thread.

Honestly, do you even know how hard it is to port another OS? Especially since I'm still learning about ROM-ing. Maybe if we had sbrissen or chris41g working on this too, then it might be done faster but until then I'm working on it.

Plus since it says WIP in the title, most mods won't close it so...

asd216

Dec 7, 2010
Visit site

I said I wasn't a developer. But you haven't posted anything to be a WIP. You just bounced on the community with no type of status update. Why even have a thread if there's nothing to try?

Post the thread when the ROM is ready to be tested.

thenameisnigel

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site

I said I wasn't a developer. But you haven't posted anything to be a WIP. You just bounced on the community with no type of status update. Why even have a thread if there's nothing to try?

Post the thread when the ROM is ready to be tested.

I actually posted it so the other devs could help, but since no one offered, I posted what I did to GitHub in hopes that someone more skilled than me could finish it.