(Supposed) FIX: Unexplained Data Usage / Battery Drain

theironblitz

Jul 6, 2012
Visit site
Let me preface this by saying a couple things:
I know I'm brand new to the Android forums but I have been following this issue for awhile. THIS IS APPARENTLY AN ISSUE FOR MULTIPLE MANUFACTURERS/ MODELS, NOT JUST MY SKYROCKET. I'm not claiming to be an authority on this subject. I'm just passing along my personal experiences and information I've been given in the hopes of saving other people the hassle I've been through. Oh, also, I might not have been using my phone long enough since the "fix" to be certain it's fixed.

Some Background:

I bought a Galaxy SII Skyrocket this past December (2011). The phone worked great initially. It was ultra-smooth and I was getting an LTE-only (no wifi) download bandwidth of over 15Mbits/s regularly.
View attachment 29645

I'll try to briefly summarize the worst of the symptoms:

Within three to four months the data upload/download bandwidth had slowed to a trickle. I was in the top 10% of data users and my speeds were being throttled down. In one instance 50 MBytes of data was used inside an hour (while I was asleep!) with no programs running.
Programs using any data were essentially dysfunctional. The battery drain was immense: A full charge would last as little as an hour. The phone was almost too hot to touch at times. There were more symptoms, but I'll spare you the details unless you want more. The symptoms progressively got worse. Near the beginning of the symptoms, I deleted all third-party apps and every Android app that I could so.... This was obviously some sort of glitch within the OS.

The Issue: