Which ROM to flash, and why?

maxell100

Mar 1, 2014
Visit site
I'm new to Android.

Rooting is self explanatory, but the justification behind flashing new ROM's is a little confusing, particularly if the current ROM seems to handle everything I need. How do you select a new ROM to flash, and what is your criteria for doing so? Do you flash to newer (or different) versions of Android for better security, app compatibility, bug fixes, new features, all of the above, or something else?

Also, for older devices, where do you draw the line for flashing newer versions of Android? For example, could my HTC Inspire 4G running 2.3.5 handle Jelly Bean or KitKat?

SactoKingsFan

Nov 1, 2013
Visit site
A custom ROM is usually flashed if you're not completely happy with the stock firmware on your phone. Many custom ROMs are available to change the UI, add features not in stock software, and improve overall performance. You can also get the newest version of Android before the update is officially available.

Even though the LG software on the G2 isn't bad, I ended up flashing a custom ROM. I flashed CMB ROMs version of Cyanogenmod 11 (4.4.2). I picked this ROM because I wanted a stock Android UI, performance settings, extra features, and to remove bloatware all at once.

Many older phones will lose support for the newest ROMs. However, if an updated version of a custom ROM is available for an aging phone then flashing it should be fine. It just won't perform as well as newer phones with better specs.

Sent from my LG-G2 running CMB 4.4.2

someguy01234

Nov 9, 2011
Visit site
This depend on if the rom is available for your device or not. Places like XDA have rules that disallow asking these kind of questions, since its not helpful and motivating for devs due to favoritism and arguments.