(SOLVED)On 4.2.2, just rooted, difficulty booting TWRP.

Philip k Dick

Apr 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi, I got my Nexus 7 couple of weeks ago and I'm pretty impressed with it. I'm new to android; been running a jail broken iPhone for a couple years and pretty familiar with all that entails, but I realize that android devices are a whole different ball game. (Theres no way I'll be buying another apple device; they are getting harder to jailbreak and without a jailbreak they are not worth having).

Plenty of people told me that you don't need to root android devices in the same way you do idevices, as they are pretty versatile out of the box. So I decided to hold fire until I hit a reason to root (I knew I'd probably be doing it eventually, I am just a tinkerer, I can't help myself)
This reason came in the form of attaching a USB drive with a OTG. I just wasn't happy with Nexus Media Importer. I want to use a thumb drive as my wife does college work and stores it on one. But Nexus media importer just wasn't good enough. She isn't very technical minded, and so I need it to just be able to work from the drive directly; is: she loads document, does work, hits save and it saves to the stick. NMI doesn't work like this so I could see I would always be doing it for her. I read about stick mount and it sounded better.
(it is....does exactly what I need)

So root it was. (she has actually expressly forbidden me to root this tablet after an unfortunate incident involving a crashed iPhone and some baby photos. But like I say, she isn't very technically minded, I doubt she'll notice!)

I used wugfresh's toolkit. I had a few initial problems with the driver tests. The toolkit was telling the device to reboot, and it was, but the toolkit wasn't recognizing that it had. It turned out I needed to toggle USB debugging after the reboot; after checking the "always accept requests from this computer" box, it all worked fine.