Wouldn't this be easier...?

truslide

Aug 25, 2010
Visit site
Can we just have a sticky for each method of root? For example a sticky for unrevoked, since I used unrevoked... Then the dev team with unrevoked will be the only ones allowed to post. They can suggest apps to use with their root method, steps on how to do everything, links to UPDATES following OTA's, etc.

Same with toast, simpleroot, and all the other methods out there.

An example would be like...

Unrevoked-

1. Basic info
2. Suggested apps to download after root
3. How to root
4. How to back up (guessing Titanium Backup dominates this category)
5. How to perform a NAND backup (Rom Manager?)
6. New updates (this will be edited only be the dev team, members can view the sticky for updates following OTA updates)
7. How to unroot/uninstall
8. etc.
9. etc.

I think this would help. Bump or comment if you agree. I'm no expert but I'd be willing to help create these stickies. I just feel like users would be more confident in rooting knowing that they are following a particular path for root. I know that as a semi-novice, semi-tech savvy person, if I had a simple "Here everything is for this method of rooting" rather than, getting info from this post, finding info on that post, I'd be more comfortable rooting. I can't tell you how confused I was after I rooted my phone with unrevoked3 trying to figure out how to do a NAND backup. Finally found it on another site, following a completely different method of rooting.