I want to root my HTC One. I'm new, and I have some questions and concerns.

Squidlyson

Oct 31, 2013
Visit site
I have recently just bought a CSpire HTC One. I am new to smartphones in general, but I am very tech savvy. I mainly just want to start off by rooting my One so I can have apps that require root access.
I would like to root my HTC One, but I have a few questions.

- Will just rooting/unlocking my device pose a chance of it being bricked?
- Will installing something like Cyanogenmod pose a chance of it being bricked?
- Can you unroot/unlock a rooted/unlocked phone?
- What is the best, reliable, safe tutorial for rooting/unlocking my One?
- What is the best, reliable, safe tutorial for installing a custom ROM like Cyanogenmod on my One?

If someone could answer these that would be fantastic! Thanks ahead of time!

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
I have recently just bought a CSpire HTC One. I am new to smartphones in general, but I am very tech savvy. I mainly just want to start off by rooting my One so I can have apps that require root access.

- What is the best, reliable, safe tutorial for installing a custom ROM like Cyanogenmod on my One?

Welcome to Android Central :)
1. As long as you download the correct files and make sure you unlock the bootloader if it is needed the chances are slim
2. Again, as long as you download the right file for your specific model it shouldn't be an issue
3. Yes, you can unroot your phone if you need it to send back to the carrier/OEM
4. I'd look on the xda-developers forum for your specific carrier and phone
5. Installing the ROM is pretty easy, just boot into the custom recovery flashed on your phone and install the ROM. You should have it saved on your phone in a zip file, the phone does the rest :D

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site

Welcome to the forums.