LG G6 Go-to manual camera settings for low light?

Soundtallica

Dec 4, 2015
Visit site
Hey everyone! I just got my G6 today and I've spent my evening setting it up. It's been awesome so far.

The only disappointment has been low light photos, it's not too much better than my old Moto Z Play in that regard and certainly not up to par with the S7 and S8. Luckily, we G6 owners are lucky to have the best manual camera controls on any phone. I'm a photography noob so my question is, what are some good ISO, shutter speed, and white balance settings for low light? I'm not looking for a particular situation, I'm looking for a mix of settings that can work in as wide a range of situations as possible.

L0n3N1nja

Jan 11, 2014
Visit site
Re: Go-to manual camera settings for low light?

Don't own the G6 but I do have a bit of camera knowledge. Unfortunately no phone takes great low light photos, some do it better, but even my S7 is a joke compared to my Nikon.

White balance from my experience on an S7 turns out a bit yellow and needs to be adjusted, if the G6 shoots like the G4 did (I've used that) than it should handle white balance on its own.

ISO increases light sensitivity and the higher you set it, the brighter the image will be but it also introduces digital noise or static at an increasing rate the higher you set it.

Shutter speed is how long the camera captures light. Slower shutter speed will let in more light creating a brighter image, faster will close more quickly and let in less light creating a darker image. This will capture motion as well. You need a very fast shutter to capture something moving fast without it blurring, a really slow shutter will create cool blur effects like light trails.