App removal/hiding?

peasdad

May 9, 2011
Visit site
New to the whole android thing. Just ditched the BB for the commando. My husband also got the same phone. Just wondering if anyone can tell me how to get rid of some of the useless crap on the phone - nfl mobile, vcast stuff..... I can't figure out how to delete or hide it. There are far too many icons for my taste.

Dpsammy

May 7, 2011
Visit site
Nery, I am new to android too. My Commando will be delivered today. Unfortunately, from what I have read on these forums, you cannot remove the "bloatware" from Verizon unless you root the phone. There are people here that can probably tell you how to do that. It may void the warranty on your phone. Basically it unlocks the phone so you can remove those apps that have been permanently installed.

Other than that, how do you like the phone?

peasdad

May 9, 2011
Visit site
Its not too bad. A ton faster than my ancient BB curve. Still working on figuring things out that were SOOOO simple with my bb.

koolshaggy

Nov 11, 2010
Visit site
You can use the Super One Click Root program, and then use Root Explorer or a similar program to delete the apps. It is very easy, even a caveman could do it.

Dpsammy

May 7, 2011
Visit site
You can use the Super One Click Root program, and then use Root Explorer or a similar program to delete the apps. It is very easy, even a caveman could do it.

Uh, wondering if a caveman will be smarter than me!

I have been playing with my phone for a few days now. I pulled all the stuff off the home screen, and have downloaded a couple apps. I assigned Google Maps to my tactic button, and added a live wallpaper (watching the battery usage with it running). I have gone in and closed a few apps that were running in the background, shut off some notification pushes, etc. I am new to android, so I am a little hesitant to root the phone before I fully understand the ramifications.